littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Writing websites of Wonder

Leave a comment

http://oneword.com/word/loss-2/comment-page-2/#comments

Have you ever been to oneword.com? I love it; it’s one of my favourites. Recently, I wrote the third comment at the link above.

Try it; just press the logo at the top of the page, then press go.

http://www.wordcounttool.com

I like to use this website whenever I don’t have NaNoWriMo to rely on, or the doc type I’m using doesn’t have the tool. I’ve been using it recently.

http://iwl.me/

Late last year, I used this link and, based off the novel I’m currently attempting to write, got Vladimir Nabokov. I quite agree.

Today, mum took me to Typo, and they had some Penguin Classics there. The first one in particular I noticed was The Picture Of Dorian Gray, which I started reading once (and LOVED) but never got to finish.

While mum was still standing around, I kept looking around that section, just to see what else was there. I looked up, and then I saw it: Lolita.

After visiting the second link above around November, December last year, I googled him, as I’d never heard of him. What I found was a page of him on wikiquotes. What I found was Lolita.

I had found a number of quotes from that book, which I’d taken a special liking to, as it reminded me of Japanese Gothic Lolitas, as the quotes were beautiful, as the style was attractive to me and, as I later read in an article, the character and the viewpoint was particularly twisted.

Of course, I had to have it. I’ve already started reading it. And wonderfully, the start of it began with the first Lolita quote I read on wikiquotes:

Lolita, love of my life, fire of my loins. My sin, my soul. Lo-lee-ta: the tip of the tongue taking a trip of three steps down the palate to tap, at three, on the teeth. Lo. Lee. Ta.

She was Lo, plain Lo, in the morning, standing four feet ten in one sock. She was Lola in slacks. She was Dolly at school. She was Dolores on the dotted line. But in my arms she was always Lolita.

Love the illiteration on the third line of the first paragraph; only noticed it as I was copying it down, and it was clever, and I do so love alliteration.

The really twisted part about this relationship though, that I read in the article, was that Lolita, in some way that I haven’t reached in the book yet, was the main character, Herbert’s, step-daughter.

It is perversion at its best. It’s disturbed, shocking, yet beloved. That’s the thing that’s really perfect about it. Written 50 years ago, and still beloved, in fact.

In Herbert’s words, “You can always count on a murderer for a fancy prose style.”

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

Leave a Reply

