littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Flash Fiction Faction – Blood

4 Comments

My heart tightened in my chest, wrenched at the sight before me. It was devastating, it was life shattering. I crashed to my knees in reverence to the higher power before me.

Blood, everywhere, obscuring everything. Red, the only colour left in the world, I lingered on it weakly. It was grisly in its nature, torturous to the mind.

My baby sister. Killed by a maniac.

I bowed down before him, surrendering to the violence. Surrendering to His Will. After all, it was all in His plan. He was no God, but he was the beginning and the end of my world now, he was the Creator of chaos. He showed as much mercy as Mother Nature, as much love as Lucifer, as much power as God Almighty.

I cradled my demised sister in my arms, wailing, mouth gaping, letting the blood flow over me, her blood. I wanted to feel connected to her still, but there was nothing to be connected to anymore. That blood, that precious blood, I needed to be covered in it to remain as part of her. Even now. Especially now.

She had been so sweet, a sweet contrast to the world’s evils. She had been so pure, my poor sister, and she hadn’t deserved this, no, not at all. She had been so innocent, had never done anything to anyone, even if she was only young. She was a child, a simple five year old child, and he had killed her.

And why? What had she done to deserve it? All she had ever done was treat people with kindness, even the ones who had treated her poorly at school, teased her. That was sad, but surely no tragedy, not like this.

That was one thing. At least she was alive. This was taking a life away, it was destroying others, it was cruel and dark.

And it twisted my heart. It rung it out and squeezed from me all the life, all the happiness that was known to it before. There was something missing from me now, the fullness of my heart, the fullness of my life, and however I tried to absorb it back, I would never be the same, I would never be that perfect again.

And there he was, standing over me, satisfied with what he had done, so happy and smug, as though he had done his job, as if my reaction was the only reason he had done it. But why? I had always known he hated me, but this? He was a psycho. He wasn’t human. No true human being could cause such cruelty for one of their own. If they could, then I didn’t want any part of it, not if this was the result.

My heart was broken, dry and shattered. This felt like the very end of existence, I couldn’t think beyond it at all, yet I knew it was a lie. Unless he planned to kill me too.

I heard his evil mocking. I turned to him, and demanded, like so many who feel forsaken by their god, why he had done this. I shouted it at the top of my lungs.

And he just sat there smiling. Like he could break me if he wanted. Like any second I’d crumple back at his feet, begging for mercy or forgiveness. Like he deserved to be worshipped.

I rose to my feet, furious, incensed, ready to pounce like a puma, claws out, teeth bared. And he laughed. After all, it was just a big fucking joke to him wasn’t it? My fear, my pain, and now, my anger. He was the one who should be lying dead right now!

So I attacked, fighting with my fists instead, ready to bite, ready to crush his body. He pushed me back hard, as though I were just a kitten trying to play, and I were getting on his nerves. That hurt far worse than it ever had before, and my fury mounted.

I wanted to prove myself, show him that I was no child like everyone always thought of me! I could take him down! I could make him hurt!

But the pain from his blows hurt so much I wanted to cry. I literally fought tears as hit me over and over again, and I began to believe it, that I was weak.

No, I thought determinedly. I couldn’t let myself become that. I had to keep fighting.

I landed another blow on him. He staggered back, injured. I seized my chance.

But I didn’t keep it long before he struck back at me once again, practiced in parries and blows, and sent me back to the ground. The tears really flowed now. I really fought them, wiping furiously. But no matter how I hard I tried, they wouldn’t stop. My hands were now coated in tears.

He seemed pretty pleased with himself, just standing there domineering over me. I hated that. I tried to swipe his feet to knock him down, but he was as fast with his feet as with his fists. I was defeated. Desperately, tragically defeated.

I was nothing.

A prompt from Quill Shiv. Obviously a little late, but I’ve done a video writing prompt, and at the time I didn’t realise.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

4 thoughts on “Flash Fiction Faction – Blood

  1. This follows the music brilliantly. I really felt every emotion she went through during the story and the visual “red” was very clear.

    You should share the link on my site so everyone else has a chance to read this!

  2. Oh! And I really want to know who “HE” is! That mystery is quite the puzzle.

  3. Ooh, what a wonderful flash fiction to create from a prompt! Really leaves me wanting to know the rest of the story.

  4. I really like how you’ve created the futility and powerlessness of the narrator. And so many unanswered questions! Who is he, and why does he hate her so much? Very interesting.

Leave a Reply

