littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Joining the Trifecta Community

2 Comments

Couldn’t resist this.

1. What is your name (real or otherwise)?

Online, you can call me littlewonder, or any variation of that. However, in real life, my name is Ashley.

2. Describe your writing style in three words.

Quirky, thoughtful, dark.

3. How long have you been writing online?

On this blog, only around a month. But I’ve been participating in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) since 2007.

4. Which, if any, other writing challenges do you participate in?

Friday Fictioneers, here on wordpress. Occasionally, I’ll also take writing challenges or contests on a popular forum site.

5. Describe one way in which you could improve your writing.

Becoming more consistent, and sticking to the task.

6. What is the best writing advice you’ve ever been given?

 One author wrote a pep talk once in which she compared writing a novel to travelling from Sydney to Perth (on the ground, not by plane, thank you very much).

At first, you’re in the city, and it’s easy, and it feels as though you could keep on going and going. Then the suburbs, and you’re winding down a little, but you’re still writing.

Then you hit desert. And it stretches out for endless kilometres, and you may find yourself crossing paths where other authors have been through, or you may make your own. And you’ll be lost out there for so long, that you may want to head back.

Don’t. Keep going, and eventually you’ll hit the other side. You’ll be moving through suburbs again. And then you’ll hit the city, and you’ll be able to celebrate for a job well done.

7. Who is your favorite author?

Possibly John Marsden, or Will Ferguson. For both of those authors, I can come back to other books they’ve written, rather than what I already know them for.

8. How do you make time to write?

Often by neglected or forgetting other things I should be doing. But usually, I try to find parts of the day where I would usually not do much and fill it with writing, or stay up late writing.

9. Give us one word we should consider using as a prompt. Remember–it must have a third definition.

Club.

1o. Direct us to one blog post of yours that we shouldn’t miss reading.

My first, and glorious, Friday Fictioneers attempt. You might also be interested in my other Fictioneers attempts.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

2 thoughts on “Joining the Trifecta Community

  1. I love the writing advice you were given, it carries a strong visual of the process that takes place when you set out on that writing journey. I’m going to keep that one in mind!

    This really is a fun way to get to know each other. Thank you for stopping by my blog, it led me back here to this part of yours. 🙂

    Merry meet!

Leave a Reply

