littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Trifecta – Scandal

13 Comments

scan·dal noun \ˈskan-dəl\

3) a: a circumstance or action that offends propriety or established moral conceptions or disgraces those associated with itb : a person whose conduct offends propriety or morality (a scandal to the profession)

He moved through the world like he wasn’t there, like a ghost, haunting his home like it was haunting him. As faces turned to him, he looked back, as if in slow motion, as if this wasn’t real, then he’d turn away again. He wanted to be invisible to the world…

…But in truth, it was much worse than that.

They saw him. He was right there in plain sight, and they knew what he had done, too. It was quite a scandal. And no ordinary scandal. No vacuous, engorged, egotistical scandal, though that was hard to believe in itself. Given this town, this population, this culture. He hated them all.

But this was not their fault, not this time. No, this time, he had no one to blame but himself. This time, it was enough to question his own morality for once, and not theirs.

He gave himself pause. He had been doing that a lot lately, hesitant and self-questioning. Was he really the bad guy here? Was he the one to blame, or were they just dragging him down in their bullshit?

This was only the beginning; this wasn’t going to just be the flavour of the month, it would make them question, too.

Good. About time they woke up to themselves.

“What did you do?” cried Randall, shoving his shoulder roughly.

Randall was someone Ian was afraid to tell this to. Sure, the dude was his best friend, but that just made it worse. It just put the pressure on.

Ian’s doubts suddenly left him. “It’s bloody thankless living in this town, mate! What was I supposed to do?”

“How the hell should I know if you won’t tell me?”

That face. But he’d find out sooner or later. Bite the bullet.

“I hate this whole town lording it over me. Phoebe should have kept her nose out of my face if she didn’t want it bent. She deserved it, didn’t she?”

Week 22 of Trifecta.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

13 thoughts on “Trifecta – Scandal

  1. I really love that first paragraph, it’s just beautiful.

  2. I enjoy your writing, but this still leaves me wondering what it was that he did… how did he “deface” Phoebe?

  3. Interesting take on the challenge. I imagine most people, when faced with their own scandalous behavior, look for where to place the blame; you captured this well.

  4. Ohhh. Domestic violence. I love how you let us in on the tension. “What DID he do?” echoed in my mind for the whole piece. A liked their accents, too, and the way you created them.

    http://jesterqueen.com

  5. Great entry! You set the mood well (good imagery as some other comments have mentioned), you kept me curious, and the end really made an impact. Well done!

  6. Very nice piece of writing. You’re quite and up and coming talent, aren’t you? 🙂

  7. This leaves so many questions…I suppose the reader can use their worst imagining to decide what he did.

  8. I like a story that leaves me with questions and wanting to know more. This story did that for me. Well done!

  9. okay – I chuckled at the end. Thank you.🙂

  10. Thanks for linking up, Little Wonder. Love the ending in this one. Hope you can join us for the weekend prompt which is already up on the site. It’s community judging this weekend, so get your entry in and get voting!

Leave a Reply

