littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Trifextra – Urgency

6 Comments

Fresh off the plane, he came straight here.

No one came to meet him at the airport. No one knew him in this new city, so essentially he was alone.

He didn’t even bother to settle into a hotel yet. This was much too urgent.

He wasn’t completely alone here. He was in town for someone who wasn’t exactly in a position to go anywhere. And now, he was the only person she had left.

“Glad you’re here, Mr. Edwards,” greeted the doctor. “But, uh… you didn’t have time to drop off your belongings into a hotel?”

“You said it was urgent,” he replied. “It was, wasn’t it?”

“Oh yes, definitely, but –”

“So I’m here. I didn’t have a lot of time. How is she?”

“Stable, for the moment, thanks to the quick hands of our doctors. But I’m afraid there’s a real danger of her falling into a coma. If that happens, it looks doubtful whether she’ll wake up.”

“I see,” he said.

“Would you like to see her?” asked the doctor.

“Yeah,” he said. “Uh…” he indicated his luggage.

“Oh yes, one of our nurses can hold those for you.”

“Thanks,” he said. “Now where’s my sister? Where’s Anna?”

“I’ll take you to her room.”

He was grateful for the garden as he passed through the outdoor halls and into the correct ward. He kept his eyes glued to the doctor’s back as he kept walking, and eventually they stopped.

“Right in here,” the doctor indicated, letting him in first.

He spotted his sister soon, without being told, and went immediately to her side. She forced a weak smile. Her beauty shone through her affected body.

“Hey, sis,” he said.

“Hey, bro,” she replied. “Thanks for coming.”

“Anything for you.”

“I’m sorry…” she said, “for everything. I never knew… I guess I just never understood what leaving would do to you.”

“I’m just glad you’re alive.” There was only time to blame. He didn’t want her to miss his familial love.

Prompt from Trifecta.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

6 thoughts on “Trifextra – Urgency

  1. “Her beauty shone through her affected body.” – absolutely loved that line.

  2. “There was only time to blame. ” Wow. Up until then, it seemed like he was holding any anger in check easily. But that sentence makes it seem like he has to hold it in check a little harder than it seemed at first.

  3. I liked the way he was grateful for the garden, like a reminder of life amid the suffering and death.
    Thanks for playing with us again. We hope to see you back tomorrow for the new prompt.

  4. I like that he went to be with his sister when she really needed it. Even though there was a distance, he went anyway, which is really nice.

  5. I liked the family-bonding tones of the story very much.

  6. I think my favorite part is him carrying his bags into the hospital. That more than anything gives a glimpse into his emotional state and how unfamiliar/sudden the situation is.

Leave a Reply

