littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Friday Fictioneers – Moth Town

11 Comments

In the post-apocalyptic town of Monterey, the air is heavy and the heat is throbbing. All humans here have suffered the consequences of their actions.

The first of the moths land on the sides of buildings. Humans are long gone from these man-made structures, and there’s plenty of spoil on display behind solid windows. There is a particularly strong smell coming off of a local McDonald’s, and it’s not the smell of chips frying or burgers grilling.

The news reporters rolled into town…

It’s a big story. How one town went from thousands of people to none. How global warming wiped out one particularly prone town and we all were next.

You know the drill. Madison Woods‘ blog.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

11 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Moth Town

  1. Love how you mention spoil right before reporters. How apropos.

    Here’s mine: http://teschoenborn.com/2012/05/25/friday-fictioneer-perspective/

  2. I agree with teschoenborn. Nice one, the first two paragraphs almost sound like a newscast.

    http://castelsarrasin.wordpress.com/2012/05/24/checkin-out-the-joint-friday-fictioneers-may-2012/

  3. “… and it’s not the smell of chips frying or burgers grilling.” That was the most chilling line of the piece. It sold the image.

    Kathy
    http://notforallmarkets.wordpress.com/2012/05/25/beauty-in-truth/

  4. Strange to think that insects will probably still be thriving after humans are long gone. Very thought provoking story. Thanks for your comment on mine.

  5. Great post-apocalyptic take. There’s a tense change (‘is’ to ‘was’ and -ing to -ed) in the second paragraph, but other than that, its a great.
    Here’s mine: http://saberdragon.wordpress.com/2012/05/25/flash-friday-fictioneer-a-letter-to-illa/

  6. Very different from everything else I’ve been reading today. I liked everything but the last sentence. I was confused as to how the word “prone” fit in there (maybe vulnerable instead?). I really liked “here’s plenty of spoil on display behind solid windows”—that was pleasantly creepy🙂

  7. A nice twist on the scenario. Global warming has become a glaring phenomenon. I only hope this story does not become a reality.

    Take a look at my flash fiction:

    http://logo-ligi.com/2012/05/25/mothballs/

  8. Wow..Thought provoking, chilling and scary. Wonder how insects and birds survive after all other life is decimated. Oceans and rivers will be polluted…acid rain will fall. Earth flattened and scorched. How will they quench their thirst? What will be left for them to eat? Reminds me of that bestseller The Road…which freaked me out so, I could not finish it. I’m glad I won’t be alive to see any of this happen. Here’s mine:
    http://www.triplemoonstar.blogspot.com

  9. Oh, is the global warming systematically eradicating the towns? I like the concept!

    Here’s mine: http://thebradleychronicles.wordpress.com/2012/05/24/flash-fiction-friday-almost/

  10. I loved the line about the odor, but this one is the one that most captured my curiosity : “…had wiped out one particularly prone town,…”. I wonder what it was that made that town particularly prone? Great story.

Leave a Reply

