littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Trifecta – Decay

4 Comments

The wood is split and rotting, the mess hall filled with mess. They’ll send us home any day now; this camp is falling into decay.

I thought when I escaped from the woods, when I was sent out of hell, that I would be saved, that things would be better. But they’re just as bad, and my mom’s just as dead as this place would soon be.

Wendy offered me to join her going back to her home, and I think I’m going to take it. I’ll return to civilisation at last, but I’m beginning to think that I’ll never be the same again.

I miss my family. I miss my old life. I don’t want them to see me cry.

Wendy’s father isn’t a serious doctor, but he got me back to health, and he agreed to take me in. For now. That’s adult speak for “I can’t wait to get rid of you”. He’s only doing it for her.

My heart feels as broken as the wood breaking down the cabins, rotting holes and attracting moss. Soon, it’ll be nothing but debris.

“I can’t wait to get home,” she says.

“I know,” I agree. I’m tired of all this decay.

Trifecta prompt.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

4 thoughts on “Trifecta – Decay

  1. Feels like some sort of Outward Bound gone bad experience for this poor thing. She needs to find a safe comfortable place. Great story telling in so few words.

  2. Great visual details — this whole piece has a sense of damp and rot that’s perfect for the prompt. Well done!

  3. Nicely done – I like the voice of the narrator and how he translates Wendy’s father’s thoughts. We know that the doctor isn’t pulling anything over on this guy. Also love the description of his heart.

  4. From the split and rotting wood, you brought us into this world fraught with decay. I hope he gets out of it.
    Thanks for joining us again, we hope to see you back for the new challenge tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

