littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Friday Fictioneers – Crow

11 Comments

Dead.

The landscape was clear, stripped, and the only remote sign of life was the jet black crow in a lone, crumbling tree. It’s call resounded loudly in the empty expanse, seeming to echo the lifeless soul of this place.

It raised its wings above it, ready to take off and leave this desolate place. There was nothing here to live off, no reason to stay, just idly flapping its wings for a moment. It looked out of the landscape, trying to get its bearings. It didn’t want to waste its energy on a fruitless journey.

Finally finding a route, it took off to the north.

It’s been awhile since I did Friday Fictioneers. Glad to be back.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

11 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Crow

  1. “seeming to echo the lifeless soul” is a wonderful line!
    Glad to have you back πŸ™‚

    Mine’s at http://www.lazuli-portals.com/flash-fiction/tideline-transition

  2. Deceptively simple story employing beautiful use of language.

  3. I pressed ‘like’ because of the bleak world you painted and the populated with the lone crow. The use of the words ‘this place’ twice in relatively quick succession was distracting. The second paragraph had quite a few superfluous words (here) and it felt rushed. Still, through ti all, i could sense what you were trying to convey and I applaud the effort. Please forgive me for openly offering an unvarnished impression of your work. Please let me know if I should refrain from this type of inout in the future.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    http://ironwoodwind.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/roadkill/

  4. Welcome back from someone who’s only in her second week. πŸ™‚ Your story was simple but lovely.

  5. A fine and well written take on the prompt. Mine is here and linked as well: http://readinpleasure.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/fridayfictioneers-spectators/

  6. Welcome back LittleWonder. You were missed. You say he’s heading north…hope he’s not heading my way, for I’m up north. lol. Nice take on the prompt. I’m #14 on the list.

  7. Excellent visual imagery, depicts well the isolation and the need to escape it.
    http://wp.me/s1nUrn-buzzard

  8. I too have been contemplating a trip north. Hmm….

    Nicely done, thanks.

  9. Wow. I wonder what happened? A forest fire, maybe, or something much more widespread and devastating? Good (and chilling) interpretation of the prompt.

    Thanks for the comment on my story!

Leave a Reply

