littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

What the hell is 50 Shades, and why so popular?

3 Comments

Everyone’s talking about this new book 50 Shades of Grey. According to one blogger, it’s the new Da Vinci Code. Wikipedia says its set the new record for fastest selling book. Wikipedia even claims (how accurate is that claim?) that it’s surpassed Harry Potter!

But what is this book/trilogy even about?

Fifty Shades of Grey follows Anastasia “Ana” Steele, a 22 year old college senior that lives with her best friend Katherine Kavanagh, who writes for their college’s student paper. Due to catching a cold, Katherine persuades Ana to take her place for an interview with Christian Grey, an incredibly successful and wealthy young entrepreneur.

Fifty Shades of Grey is a 2011 erotic novel by British author E. L. James. Set largely in Seattle, it is the first instalment in a trilogy that traces the deepening relationship between a college graduate, Anastasia Steele, and a young business magnate, Christian Grey. It is notable for its explicitly erotic scenes featuring elements of sexual practices involving bondage, discipline, sadism, and masochism (BDSM).

What the fuck?

How is this better than Harry Potter?

Wikipedia has also told me about controversies involved with the book, the first of which is its origins in fanfiction. Not exactly my fandom, but I can respect the fact that someone actually managed to turn fanfiction into something so sellable.

Or I would. From what else I’ve read of it, it’s just a bad fanfic turned novel. Even if it wasn’t “a sex book”, I probably still wouldn’t read it.

And yet so many women do. Why? Because society is so sex-obsessed? Because the male lead fits so well into their own individual broken down self-pride? Because the author is simply taking what audiences secretly wait for in any story between two characters and skipping right to it?

I don’t get it. Personally, I just find the whole thing depraved, even apart from the sex. This isn’t Twilight, it’s so much worse. I don’t know what the books are like unless I read them, but just as an outsider, I’d say that the whole thing is just making a bad thing worse.

It’s no secret that certain people dismiss Twilight by saying that Bella and Edward’s relationship isn’t healthy. If anything, 50 Shades is the proof. Do we really wanna take our lessons from vampires?

You tell me.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

3 thoughts on “What the hell is 50 Shades, and why so popular?

  1. I think what’s so frustrating about 50 Shades being fan fiction is that she tried to hide it. She changed the names, published that and took her fanfiction down from the internet, and then claimed it was original work despite the fact that her fanfiction had been insanely popular and EVERYONE knew what she had done. At least have the balls to be like “yeah, this was fanfiction, so what?” instead of attempting a lie you had to know you wouldn’t get away with. 😛

    Oh, well, and also the writing is atrocious. So there’s that.

    • I didn’t know that. But I can imagine it.

      I’m not exactly too familiar with any of it, the only reason I decided to address it is because I keep hearing about this book and I feel like I’m missing something.

Leave a Reply

