littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

The Ivan Project

4 Comments

A couple years back, I met a storyteller by the name of Ivan Coyote. At the start of one summer, I asked Ivan how to gauge whether or not I had what it takes to be an author. Ivan told me that if I could get up every day and write something—even on the days when I was miserable, uninspired, overwhelmed with writer’s block—then I could be an author.  

So I decided to put it to the test. Every morning of that summer, I woke up and wrote a complete 200-word piece of microfiction. It was hard work, but I never missed a day. On the hundredth day, I knew I could be an author if I wanted to.

This is something I read in my mailbox at Camp NaNoWriMo. And it’s a good point, and something maybe I might want to try here. I already write flash fiction often enough.

So I’ve been inspired to start something I’ll call The Ivan Project: Each day, I’ll write one piece of flash fiction of 100-200 words, for 100 days. If I succeed, then maybe I can prove to myself that I can do this.

Once I finish Camp tomorrow, starting the 1st of September, I’ll start on The Ivan Project. Anyone else who wants join me is welcome, though I’ll be starting tomorrow regardless.

Peace out, guys.

And as a side note, this.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

4 thoughts on “The Ivan Project

  1. A brave pursuit. Good luck! We’ll all be cheering you on.🙂

  2. Good luck. Looking forward to reading your work!

  3. Have fun with the challenge. Flash fiction is becoming quite the rage.

Leave a Reply

