littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

The Ivan Project, #6

2 Comments

Today, I decided to try something I’ve wanted to do ever since I saw the idea on QuillShiv’s blog. The basic idea is to write to match the tone of the music. I heard this song a while ago in another blog, and loved it. So it’s the immediate first choice.

In the future, I may do other, in fact very different, songs.

It wasn’t her fantasy, this city life.

She looked across the Thames, muddy and brown, the colour of an ugly town. She used to look at Big Ben with romanticism, but now it was just a bland clock tower across a dirty landscape.

A romantic teen flashed in her memories, passion for travel, her young life…

Smiles.

She ran her hand against the old bridge barrier, taking herself through dreams to disillusion.

Unpleasant memories now, everything that went wrong, all the drama, the raised voices, the stress…

She quickened her pace, chased by memories that she was a bum, she was worthless —

She stopped. Breathed.

Slowly, she put a foot in front of her, then another…

She walked, logically going through everything that she was going through that was working. The drama didn’t matter. The anger was in the past. The stress would melt away soon…

She looked out over the Thames again. She saw its own history, and then days and nights flashing by as it filled with cargo ships until the whole bay was so crowded that you could walk from one side to another across the ships. She imagined herself as a mischievous child running across.

She smiled.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

2 thoughts on “The Ivan Project, #6

  1. Very nice piece. It went well with the music. I’ve never tried anything like this but it sounds interesting.

  2. Hello,
    Just letting you know that I’ve nominated you for the one lovely blogger award.
    Check it out http://thejennymacbookblog.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

