littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Why do I write?

2 Comments

There is this movie with Emma Watson I saw once, called Ballet Shoes. Her character wanted to be an actor, and while filming a scene, she was asked by the director what she wants most.

“Acting,” she replied.

“I hope that isn’t a truthful answer,” he replied. “If it is, there’s no hope for you.”

So she went away and thought about the answer, and when she came back to do the scene again, she did it convincingly, emotionally. Afterward, she told the director that she thought of her sisters.

It’s the same for writers. So ever since, I’ve thought passingly about my own reasons to write.

This is the scene:

I write to be understood. I want to be understood because I feel disconnected and misunderstood by the people around me. I don’t like that. There are parts of me I want to share, and fiction is a good avenue for that.

Not everything in fiction needs to pertain to my own emotions, but it forces me to reach out and understand other people. But more importantly, in the mix are the kind of stories I can connect to, the kind of stories I want other people to know and understand like I do.

Tonight, I was watching The Project, when they did a thing on something called the Milk Crate Theatre. It struck me because of the interviews with participants telling of the impact reminded me a lot of what I’ve been trying to say here.

The things that the “actors” were saying resonated with me, because I felt as if that was my journey too. Before I started really writing, I felt a bit down on myself too, and my life wasn’t even nearly as bad as those in Milk Crate Theatre. I’m not homeless after all.

Another relevant link if is this blog. Already, I know mine differs from hers.

I write because I want to entertain while teaching the lessons from my heart. I want people to know the characters in my imagination, so they can fulfill their lives in the open instead of in my secret world. I want to piece the stories in my head together, I want to learn their secrets in order to expand not only my perception of people outside myself, but expand others’ minds too. And I want other people to love the world I’ve created.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

2 thoughts on “Why do I write?

  1. Though it isn’t WHY I write, I do the same thing to an extent. I have a really hard time understanding the allure or point of romantic connections with someone, but through writing about two characters in a committed relationship it’s sort of helped me get over my “ugh, why would you ever want to kiss someone else? That’s gross, go away” mentality. 😄 So I get that idea of using writing to put yourself in someone else’s shoes, so to speak.

Leave a Reply

