littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

SOC Sunday – Just Write #1

10 Comments

I was just thinking that I should try stream of consciousness today, but I couldn’t find it straight away. And then when I saw the topic, it didn’t apply. So this is me just writing straight and aimlessly, which I’m sure is no good combination.

I’ve been losing ideas, so I’ve just been grabbing them for anywhere and twisting them into my own. That’s what writers do, isn’t it?

It’s hard to write every day, but at least its still fun. Four weeks into the Ivan Project, and I haven’t slowed down, at least. Typing up my novel from Camp NaNoWriMo is another matter. It is seriously tiring out now, but I’m still on track 20k in.

I got into writing from fanfiction. Maybe that’s how I got my definition of what writer do above, because I started using other people’s ideas in the first place. I wonder how those who started otherwise started writing, then.

 And that’s my words for today. Not bad, actually. I ended up talking about how I got into writing anyway. That’s roughly what the topic was asking, anyway.

I seriously wanna correct the last paragraph by adding the s after writer in the first sentence, though.

Damn not being able to edit! Oh well, you probably wouldn’t have even noticed if I hadn’t point it out…

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

10 thoughts on “SOC Sunday – Just Write #1

  1. that’s what some writers do, take other people’s ideas and twist them into their own. but do you mean like someone in the direction of kid rock? someone who takes the music written by others, the music written with great work, and then he just puts his own words over someone else’s music? i have no respect for “artists” like him, but i don’t think that’s what you’re doing.

  2. I’m glad you decided to just write. I lose ideas too and it makes me terribly frustrated.

  3. You got your point across just fine – no edits needed.

  4. It is hard not to go back. But you played by the rules. Hurrah! Fan Fiction. I don’t know that term. Tell me more. . .

    • I suppose I should’ve explained…

      Fanfiction is fiction written about something that another writer has already invented. For example, writing stories about Harry Potter that JK Rowling never wrote, that is just your own ideas of a story from that fictional world.

      And there are many other worlds beside that to choose from, TV, film, anime, comic books…

  5. Wandered over from SOCS …

    I can really relate – started keeping pencil and paper next to the bed, because my ‘best’ ideas hit at about 3:00am, while I’m trying to fall asleep. And, like all bratty children, disappear when I look for them again.

  6. Ideas escape me constantly. I’ve taken to jotting notes on my phone or a pad in my car when I think I’m onto something. I love writing stream of consciousness and what randomly comes into my head. Sometimes its fantastic and other times, eh?, but it feels so good to get words tapped on this keyboard. Sometimes I feel lighter.

  7. The ‘no editing’ thing is the hardest for me too. Well that and paying attention to something for 5 minutes (as sad as that sounds). No wonder I go weeks between posts!

    • That does sound a little sad.🙂 I’m glad I don’t have such a short attention span, or I might not have had the will to write every day for four weeks straight so far… as part of the Ivan Project, that I started to test myself.

  8. Thanks for sharing! And for just writing. It’s a great reminder for me to stick with and and write more.🙂

Leave a Reply

