littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

The Ivan Project, #25

Leave a comment

“Where did that cat come from?”

A small black form raced across the field of people, barely visible in the dark, as the crowd of people lined up to pile their plates with the Hawaiian feast.

“What cat?” her mother said.

“That cat–” She tried to point it out, but then lost sight of it in the night. “Uh… it was there… There!” she spotted it, sitting still, licking its paw under one of the tables.

Her mother’s vision wasn’t as good as hers. “Where? I don’t see anything…”

“Under the table, mom! Where those Californians are sitting!”

“All I see is their feet.”

“Well, its a full black cat…”

“A black cat? Well, no wonder I couldn’t see…”

It was sitting there now, perfectly still. “Well, it’s there. It’s sitting still.”

“Oh, let me try to…” Her mom peered, and she watched her expression. “Oh! I see!”

She smiled.

“What’s a cat even doing out here, anyway? Are there cats in Hawaii?”

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

Leave a Reply

