littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Friday Fictioneers – Peace and Chaos

16 Comments

She stepped up the stone staircase, looking around in appreciation. “It’s beautiful here, so peaceful…”

“Yeah, but it’s usually packed for the autumn viewing festival. Glad it’s summer. And for this shade.”

She looked back at Sandra. “What’s the autumn viewing festival?”

“You haven’t heard of it? In autumn, when the leaves turn different colours, Japanese flock from all around to sit under the autumn trees and see them. It’s usually chaos trying to find a spot. If you don’t plan, you might have to try several different parks.”

“Wow. I can’t imagine chaos in this place.”

“Come back in autumn,” said Sandra.

I’ve been looking for an excuse to go back to the Friday Fictioneers.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

16 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Peace and Chaos

  1. Sounds as though you might have been there (or been there in your mind.) I’d prefer the peace.

  2. I’m not sure why it’s necessary to specify that the friend is half-Japanese. To me, it feels a little like an odd detail that doesn’t flow with the rest of it–which is quite good. I do like it a lot, especially the contrast between the current peacefulness and the festival chaos.

    • The main reason was because I had this detail in my head that desire to show. But if it doesn’t flow, I guess I have to pull myself back from doing things like that…

      Thanks for your criticism.

  3. Don’t like chaos? I suggest you stay away from the Autumn Viewing Festival. Can’t say you weren’t warned.

  4. The Sakura viewing is worse.

  5. An interesting reflection on how the beauty of nature can be harmed by our desire to experience it. I think I would prefer out of season too, but then you miss out on the colours.
    Mine’s over here http://anneorchardwriter.wordpress.com/2012/09/28/friday-fictioneers-jungle-escape/

  6. I really liked this. There’s nothing worse than trying to relax and explore the beauty of nature than doing so with a crowd of others. You caught this nicely. Well done.

  7. Hi LW,
    Your story is a nice reminder how fragile peace and tranquility can be an how easily it can be destroyed. NIce job! Ron

  8. Ah so true isn’t it. Sometimes we are spoilt by beauty and other times it’s spoilt for us. I found this in Tokyo, some parks were tranquil, others were completely dominated by tourism. Takes the shine off it a little.

  9. Succinct and very well written.

  10. I liked the contrast in how the two characters view the place – one with a little more knowledge than the other. Simple but well done piece

  11. looking for an excuse? all that’s needed is your own want, decision, and desire. no excuses needed.

  12. You are already there (writer good enough to be published) and you have the gift of time. keep writing, keep seeking, keep telling your stories.

    Aloha,

    Doug

Leave a Reply

