littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

The Ivan Project, #40

Leave a comment

“What did the doctor say?” his boyfriend asked in concern, stroking his had. He knew something had gone terribly wrong with his body.

“Motor Neuron Disease.”

Ivan watched his boyfriend’s face for a moment, not understanding but waiting for it to sink in. “What’s that?”

“It’s a rare disease… with no cure. Slowly, I’ll lose control of my motor functions until I’m a vegetable.”

Now it really struck Ivan. He could not have imagined a worse fate for his boyfriend. Soon, he wouldn’t be able to do anything…

And yet, here was this overwhelming urge to stand by his boyfriend all the same, the same dreams to marry now in the forefront of his mind.

They wouldn’t have much time. “Let’s get married.”

“What?” he said. “But it’s not legal here yet. And it’s taking too long to…”

“We’ll fly up to Canada. We can move there.”

“But I’m…”

“I don’t care.”

Randall got tears in his eyes. “Okay,” he said. “Let’s do it.”

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

Leave a Reply

