littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Trifecta – Death

1 Comment

He must be really fucked up after three days, to hallucinate about the dark spectre of Death. Menacing, glowering over him.

He was parched and ravenous, light-headed but still walking, too hopeful to reach safety. He knew he was hallucinating, but he thought he must be at the end of his tether. To afraid to move, just frozen in the dirt.

His death was coming for him as surely as his throat was cracked. His sanity might well be lost. He thought of all he loved and lay down on the ground, staring at a single dead leaf and waiting for death to similarly claim him.

At least there was some symmetry, some meaning to his death. Even if there never was a meaning to his life.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

One thought on “Trifecta – Death

  1. There are a couple of hiccups and typos in this that made the first read a bit tricky. But by the second, I was really enjoying where you took this. I think the strongest parts are where you give us the detail–the dry throat, the dead leaf. Nice stuff here.

Leave a Reply

