littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Friday Fictioneers – Europe

13 Comments

Nonno was waiting for me. He didn’t like to be kept waiting, yet still I trudged along the alley back to his house. I couldn’t help it; my heart was broken.

It felt like gravity was trying to drag me to the ground, eager to see my pain. Damn gravity. But I wasn’t going to give in to it. The only reason I had come here was to try to escape, to forget it all.

It was useless. Beautiful as this place was, it didn’t ease the pain. The white walls looked like painted dirt, and the dirty ground looked like a stained carpet. There was no beauty here.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

13 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Europe

  1. Hi LW,
    Sounds like a vacation gone awry. I’ve barfed on vacation. It’s no fun. Great whimsical tone! Ron

  2. captured a broken heart pretty well.

  3. Beauty in the eye of the beholder, indeed. Hope she gets over the broken heart.
    Mine’s here today http://anneorchardwriter.wordpress.com/2012/10/12/friday-fictioneeers-empty/

  4. it’s hard to see beauty when your world is crashing around you. Hope she can resolve and move on. I’m #17 on the list this week.

  5. A very bad case of ‘lovesick’. Nicely captured.

  6. When your hearts broken, it’s hard to see much beauty anywhere. I personally am not taken with “barf”, which sort of broke the flow for me, but that’s fine. I don’t care for the work anywhere. Good depiction of hurt coloring life.

  7. It’s easy to feel the walls closing in when your heart is broken…especially in a tall, stone alleyway such as this.

  8. but that temporary “escape” will make it all go away. for a little while at least. well done.

  9. Sad story. Nicely done. Still feel the sorrow.

  10. A vacation almost never lives up to expecations, only the unexpected break unfortunatelly, Very hard to plan for the recovery.

  11. I really liked the description of the world drained of beauty at the end. Good job!

  12. She’s feeling down and you have her looking down. Though this is a small point, i think it is telling. Good job with this story.

    Aloha,

    Doug

Leave a Reply

