littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Friday Fictioneers – New Year In Bangkok

17 Comments

Copyright - Lora Mitchell
“What an exotic New Year…” she whispered, gazing in awe at the sky.

“Perfect,” her husband said beside her. “Sitting on the dock of the bay… with you.”

She smiled, looking at him briefly. “You’re cute.”

“You’re perfect.”

She looked at him again, for longer this time. “It’s a perfect vacation. Thank you.” She leaned in, settling into his neck.

He stroked her hair, and she angled up to see the fireworks.

“Forget about them,” he said. “Just be with me.”

“I am with you. I’ve been with you for five years.”

“Still. Humour me.”

She smiled at him. “Sure.”

One of my rare Friday Fictioneers pieces. 🙂 For some reason, this picture looked like a foreign south-east Asian city, like Bangkok or Singapore. So I went with that.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

17 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – New Year In Bangkok

  1. Very nice – a good story with a little kystery.

  2. a good story, I felt the warmth. Have you been to Japan?

  3. Very natural dialogue. A lovely small moment.

  4. Very well written with some intrigue at the end

  5. Reminds me of being with someone who has a phone as part of the threesome, though fireworks are a much nicer third party. 🙂 I really felt the warmth and love between them and got a smile out of “sitting on the dock of the bay”. Very nice! I agree with Claire that the dialogue was very realistic.

  6. Very sweet! Nicely captured.

  7. Intimate moment nicely captured.

  8. A lovely, upbeat tale. Here’s to many more happy years.

  9. I can see that. Nice piece, LW.

  10. Adorable. I could seriously feel/see the couple, right down to the expressions on each face. That is one of my major goals as a poet and a writer, so well done indeed, and I will be rereading this (with your permission) for study purposes. 😉

    Thank you for the awesome comment, btw. I appreciate the detail. 🙂

  11. Dear LW,

    Very nice to see you this week. After five years he’s still insecure and she’s sweet to humor him. He’s also lucky.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  12. yeah. where you been? i had been enjoying your takes on this. try sticking around if possible.

    • This past month, I’ve been offline due to the internet being down. Other than that, I’ve sort of forgotten about Friday Fictioneers a bit, since I’ve been on Trifecta, which is another writing challenge.

      I’ll try to stick around Fictioneers as much as I can, though. I do miss it a bit.

Leave a Reply

