littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Trifecta – Helping Hand

23 Comments

She couldn’t speak any Japanese, so it was a relief when they brought in an interpreter to help her interact with the doctors and her one loyal visitor, as well as fill out all the necessary forms.

“Who have you come to Japan with?” the doctor asked in Japanese, translated a moment later by the interpreter.

“No one.”

“What is your purpose here?”

“I was kidnapped.”

Silence broke in the air like a gunshot, reverberating around the air into the people around her. She could feel it herself, but she felt like an outsider watching the shock spread on their faces as if they’d just witnessed a murder.

She tried for a moment to explain, desperate to make them stop, hating them for continuing to stare and needing to know why. None of it made a difference.

Eventually, the silence settled upon them like the end of a ripple in the water, and the doctor spoke again. She’d been too shocked to listen, but then the interpreter repeated it a moment later.

“Do you have any friends and family you’d like to call?”

She didn’t know why, but she hadn’t expected this path, she hadn’t expected to be rescued even as she rode to the hospital in the man’s car. She expected to have to make her own way back.

Without hesitation, she cried, “Yes!”

The doctor jumped slightly. Then he told her that a phone would be brought in. He left, and several minutes later it arrived on a rolling table.

The interpreter busied himself by the window as she brought the phone closer.

She studied him for a moment, distracted. He had smooth, rosy cheeks and shiny black hair, parted to the side. His eyes were dark, almost black, and the edges of skin that framed them were the smoothest part of him, curved inward to those eyes.

He looked just like the man. She pushed the phone to the side.

“Later,” she said.

Prompt from Trifecta, and the third continuation from my image prompt.

Parts one and two.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

23 thoughts on “Trifecta – Helping Hand

  1. Interesting how she was kidnapped but wanted to wait to make the call that could rescue her.

  2. I wonder what the hesitation is for. Interesting story. Will like to see where it leads…

  3. There’s been a lot of good action here but not much information on why she’s running yet — I’m looking forward to finding out what’s going on!

  4. Would like to hear more about where this is going.

  5. This leaves us wanting more. Nice build-up of dread and curiosity.

  6. I can’t imagine a fear strong enough that would make me want to wait to reconnect. That has to be a pretty powerful fear.

  7. Great portrayal of outsider. Paranoid or cautious??? Nicely handled ambiguity.

  8. Scary… when’s part 4?

  9. Oooh, what’s going through her head now??

  10. She is interested in catching her kidnapper first – right? (Great job!)

  11. Very engaging! Definitely want to more about her and what’s going on!

  12. a fascinating read – leaves us will all sorts of questions. well done.

  13. I like how smart and contemplative you’ve developed her. She isn’t a victim, ina traditional sense. I like how you used “later”. Less is more. But I want more of this story.

  14. Love the way this story is being unraveled-each piece a nice add on to the previous.I was totally caught by surprise when she refused to call,after noticing the interpreter-great piece:-)

  15. A very creepy twist to an already intriguing story. Well done.

  16. I like the scenario. Reading this story my mind is jumping ahead trying to figure out what must have happened. And definitely leaves me wanting more. Great job! 😀

  17. Good job. I plan to catch up with the series. I read your bio. So young, I am impressed.

  18. Scary. Powerful writing, will wait for the next part.

Leave a Reply

