littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Friday Fictioneers – Starting Over

21 Comments

Copyright -Douglas M. MacIlroy

I woke to the worst disaster in history.

My heart jolted as my eyes opened to the inside of a tent.

“I think she’s awake,” said someone just outside. Dad? He poked his head in, smiling. “You awake? It’s almost one.”

“You dragged me camping?”

“A storm hit early this morning. You wouldn’t wake up, so we had to carry you. The cyclone destroyed half the coast; we had to move inland.”

“Where are we?”

“Come out and see.”

I poked my head outside. Fields all around; there was a horse behind a rabbit proof fence.

“Great.”

Flash fiction for Friday Fictioneers.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

21 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Starting Over

  1. Nice style of writing there.

  2. I haven’t thought of the movie “Rabbit-Proof Fence” for a long time but I may need to look for it again. As for your narrator, I’m amazed she could sleep soundly enough to be hauled all that way! That wouldn’t be me. 🙂

    janet

  3. Nice. That’s a heavy sleeper than can sleep through a disaster of that scale.

  4. Wish I could sleep like that I would be in bed right now. Great story.

  5. ha, you described my 17 year old son. I like your voice here.

  6. Nice story! But I think I would be terrified of the rabbits that couldn’t get through that fence! Just kidding. 🙂

  7. I thought you could develop this into a longer story. The Rabbit Proof Fence immediately made me think of Australia.

  8. Thats a nice take on the prompt

  9. Liked this.

  10. Dear Little Wonder,
    That’s one sound sleeper! Wow. I’d like to know the back-story on that.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  11. She sleeps with the dead, almost. How hard it would be to believe this story. I sense a longer yarn within this brief snippet.

  12. I really loved this story. I reckon there are plenty of teenagers out there who could sleep through a major disaster like this! (And for them the major disaster would be waking up in a field). Love it!

  13. Enjoyed this story. To wake up in a strange field and view the sight of a beautiful horse…could be the beginning of a lovely fairytale.

  14. Very neatly told tale, loved it.

  15. Brilliant lachonic end in this story… love it.

  16. Dear LW,

    Loved your story. Hers was the best way to get through any crisis.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  17. Sounds like a really intriguing beginning to a longer story!

  18. I’m not a heavy sleeper but I slept through a hurricane. I was staying in a huge old brick Victorian house with double glazing. Also, I doubt it was a ‘real’ hurricane as hurricanes go. I would have woken up at once had anyone touched me though. I’m thinking there’s another reason your character didn’t wake and that’s in the story before the story. You could develop this into something longer. Ann

Leave a Reply

