littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Friday Fictioneers – Deserting Home

16 Comments

Copyright - Janet Webb

There was no going out tonight. Not here, not ever again… I couldn’t even take my writing. I left my dress hanging out over the balcony, and my notebook there on my bed.

I felt a tug from my heart as I left my bedroom for the last time. We could take nothing with us. It was too poisonous, the radiation already exceeding the Ukraine.

I was just a teenager. I didn’t want any of this. Leaving everything I knew and loved. My mama held me in her arms. Within hours, the streets would be empty.

Time to leave… Chernobyl.

For Friday Fictioneers.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

16 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Deserting Home

  1. Good idea, nicely executed, but I have one quibble. I don’t understand “…the radiation already reaching the Ukraine.” Reaching the Ukraine from where?

    I was living my first year in Sweden when the Chernobyl disaster happened. Some areas of the this country were quite heavily contaminated by caesium fallout when clouds from Ukraine rained over us.

  2. Very intense. Chernobyl was a terrible incident with long-lasting repercussions.

  3. How sad to not only have to leave home but everything you value and you conveyed that very well. I’m having a little difficulty with “my mama held me in her arms as we walked.” I understand the sentiment but it would be hard to walk with both arms around someone. First I thought she was carrying the child, then realized that the girl is a teen and took another look.

    janet

  4. For myself I pictured that just fine but maybe “mama wrapped her arms around me as we walked” is the phrase you need for a child of this age.
    Either way, it’s a sad story and I felt the pain and confusion caused by the circumstances.
    Good take on the prompt.

  5. You portray her sense of loss really well.

  6. I agree with the comments above. Well done.

  7. Pow!
    Great tale, well told.

  8. Oh yes, living in sweden… I soo recall that 1st of May holiday. rainy it was, and we knew were the rain came from (it’s very rare with rain from the east). But leaving Chernobyl must have been a traume for every one

  9. Wow – you have chosen a subject that affected the world and will never be forgotten and then took us inside the horror. Well written flash.

  10. Positively apocalyptic! Loved it! So love post-nuke stories. I can identify with having to leave it all behind, at least. Not because of nuclear radiation, but I understand the loss all the same. Grew up in the foster care system, sometime a new family every three days or so…

  11. Dear LW,

    You’ve captured the anguish of a young person whose world has been turned upside down. Nice one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  12. You know we always see comprehensive coverage of a disaster during the beginning days, but there is so much associated with the human costs.

Leave a Reply

