littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Friday Fictioneers – Heights

5 Comments

rescuers

She laughed bitterly.

He turned to her. “What?”

She gripped the edge, her palm pressing into the cold metal, as they waited to be rescued. But she was not the kind of girl who got rescued, she was the kind  always fending for herself.

“It would be so easy…” she said, sour giggles breaking out against tears. “Even if we’re not that high up, it would be easy… to throw myself off. Oh, I wouldn’t plunge and die, no…” her smile widened, “no… but the pain, the pain… not enough to die…” She broke down.

“Don’t,” he said.

“I know.”

For Friday Fictioneers.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

5 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Heights

  1. I liked your story. I particularly like how she seemed to relish the thought of pain – that was surprising, but believable given her behavior up there. I think she won’t jump, but it sounds like she’s got some things she needs to get worked out.

  2. Dear LW,

    “…not the kind of girl who got rescued…” A very telling statement about your MC. It says to me, that while she might contemplate jumping, she’s a fighter and a survivor. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Her pain comes through very sharply.

  4. I felt her pain while reading this. Glad she’s fighting on.

    janet

  5. You are so good – do you know that? I love when you play along with FF – always a pleasure!

Leave a Reply

