littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Runaways

Leave a comment

The ground erupted into thunder as Maddy broke through the brush on a horse.

“Come on!” she beckoned, and another horse followed her, one with reins and a simple blamket over its back.

I chased it through the dark, trying several times to mount it, but it was too tall, it was running too fast, and there wasn’t even a saddle to hook into.

“Where are we going?” I shouted through the air.

I had to stop the horse enough to get on, and now I steered it away from the trees. Maddy was right in front of me now, as I rode so high off the ground, only holding on the reins, so loose that I had to hold tight to keep from falling off. But even at these high speeds it was fun. I’d forgotten what it was like to ride a horse.

“How many times have you ridden a horse before?”

“Twice!”

“You’re practically an expert!”

“Never bareback, though!”

“Welcome to Africa!” she said. “You white people might have all these useless things, but this how we do things here!”

We’d been running for a while. Just yesterday we’d swam down a river, arguing about black people versus white people, now we were practically best friends.

Hours later, we tied up our horses and went inside a small shop, lining up along the counter to eat. Maddy stood against the wall, and I was done before I even broke out of line.

“Where are going?” I asked again.

“I’ll tell you when we’re outside again.”

I wasn’t going to find out till we arrived…

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

Leave a Reply

