littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

Brisbane and Back

Leave a comment

I stayed up late last night, so it was with a rude awakening that I was greeted this morning when mum called me to get up and get ready to go. Go where? I called out, asking, but got no reply. So grumpily, I rolled over and went back to sleep.

Some time later, I was woken up again. This time I was rather more awake, so I was actually able to get up out of bed. Mum was saying we had to leave soon, but I was still confused, so I asked again. I woke myself more readily when she said something that amounted to today being Christmas shopping day, but it wasn’t. Still, I brought my bag with my wallet, just in case.

I had to rush to get ready, so it was lucky I already wore my clothes to sleep. I just had to put on my shoes and socks, and I grabbed my sunnies, and put on my iPod. Mum told me to eat breakfast, but it was already 18 minutes past ten, when we were supposed to leave, so I grabbed two muesli bars. Luckily they were well enough to last me until lunch.

First place we went was down to Brisbane to meet my sister. I accidentally caught sight of my Christmas present (a TARDIS cookie jar!) and mum and I had leftover smoothie. The three of us then left and looked at a place at North Lakes (we’re looking to move somewhere cheaper). It was the first place that was big enough for our stuff, and it was a nice area, although there were a few strange features of the house. For example, the garage converted into a hair salon, or the wraparound sun room, which had also been converted from the backyard. Still, it was a nice enough place, in a convenient location both for my Uni and mum’s for next year. And it’ll be closer to sis, when we do move.

After that, we went to the shops for lunch. We ate at an Asian food place, since essentially everything else was fast food or Subway (and its been ages since we went there). I had a taster dish, and mum and sis both had Tokyo Beef, though it was too much for both of them. Mine was just big enough, though I didn’t finish the pork bun completely (it got stuck to the paper).

Then we had to go pick dad up. He’s been staying in Brisbane for a Sea Org Detox thing. Apparently, one day of the week he’s still eating fast food. No matter what, dad never does seem to be able to resist. It’s like it’s his nature: indulgent. There was quite a bit of complaining from mum that this errand ruined the day, but there was no one else to pick him up, as brother-in-law lost his license recently.

We dropped both sis and dad off at sis’ place and I went with mum to have dinner at her Italian friend’s house. We had delicious meatballs and mash potatoes. The mash was so tasty, full of curious flavours. Mum also brought ice cream made of protein, which was actually quite good, although I was the only one who ate all of mine. Mum said it was fine if you had to eat it on a diet, but it wasn’t great.

In the end, I felt I was waiting too long waiting for her friend to do something for her, so I looked on the bookshelf. He had a few cookbooks, what looked like the Italian version of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Men Are From Mars Women Are From Venus and… Mein Kampf, the Hitler propaganda book. I was quite surprised at that and got rather fixated on it. For one thing, what was he doing with the Nazi book? For another, was it in German? Could it really be possible he somehow knew German?

I started to think of reasons why he might have it. I wondered if he was merely curious, from a historical point of view, why the Nazis thought the way they did. That was the top reason I came up with. Why else would you have it, unless you were a Neo-Nazi? He’s far too nice and accepting to be that, but it still seemed strange, and mind-blowing that he would have it. I didn’t even think the book would be available if you wanted it. It’s a pretty terrible thing, being from such an evil movement.

I was too afraid to look inside. Too afraid even to mention to mum I saw it. So I’m saying it here.

Anyhow, we left, and stopped off at a gas station before going home. I got an orange juice and an issue of Empire, that nerd magazine. I’m gonna go read it once I’m finished here.

So finally, we got home. That was a relief. Still rather hot though, even at night.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

Leave a Reply

