littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.


4 Comments

Trifextra Word Challenge

A cacophony of noise erupted towards the stage, shaking her nerves.

“You okay there, Sarah? You look like you had quite a fright,” Jeremy, her fellow stage hand, said.

“Yeah,” she said. “Just not used to this sort of environment, I guess. My upbringing was always so dull and strict, not to mention educated and quiet. But I always knew I didn’t fit in there.”

“Were you adopted?” he asked, shocked.

“No…” she answered, “but I was always just so different… None of us knows why. Maybe I skipped a generation.”

They continued working. “Well, so what? You could clean up good here if you play your cards right. A bit of soap, a bit of gel. You want to move up towards being a star someday?”

“No, I don’t really. I’m happy just to contribute.”

“Sounds like maybe your family smothered your dreams,” said Jeremy. “Don’t you someday want to be more than a helper? What do you want most?”

Sarah thought. “To have a family I can relate to…?” she said.

Jeremy looked at her for a moment with a dragging heart. “That’s sad,” he said. “Why is that? Are there dreams you would have with them that you’re holding out on with me?”

“Maybe…” she said. “I don’t know, it’s hard to imagine what I might’ve dreamt before…”

“Well, forget before, then. What about right now?”

“Right now…?” she said. “Well… maybe, I might… be… the Technical Director. That’d be fun. You could have control of everything!”

Jeremy smiled at her. “See? It’s not so bad. You and me, I could be your family.”

Sarah smiled back. “Yeah. If you’re going to be my bigger brother, can we go catch insects some time? I used to have a neighbourhood boy who liked doing that, and he offered to show me how, but my parents didn’t want me to get dirty…”

Jeremy looked confused. “I don’t really know how, but I can try…”

Sarah had never been so happy.

Taken from Trifextra.