littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

The Ivan Project, #9

Leave a comment

These guys probably haven’t heard of Wizard Rock, but it feels like wizard rock, even if I know it was intended as a parody. It’s kind of like when the Beastie Boys did Fight For Your Right To Party. I don’t even mind the third verse… Swish and Flick make songs like that, anyway.

I was singing this song to myself as I cooked dinner last night, and I started to focus in on the first verse… and I started to wonder about the character in it, why he never went to Hogwarts if he’s a wizard.

And I came up with this.

He stared into his own reflection, not in the mirror but real and in the flesh. The only difference between either of them was that the man in front of him had round glasses and a lightning bolt scar.

“How is this possible?” he asked me.

“My parents stole me when I was two months,” Gary answered. “They helped your parents when they were running from Voldemort.”

“They’re your parents too.”

“They didn’t raise me.”

“They didn’t raise me either! They died when I was one!”

“Glad I got out of there in time, then.”

Harry fumed at him. “How could you?”

“Hey, I’m a street thug now. Gary Potter, nice to meet you,” he teased.

“You don’t regret it? I’ll take you in for–”

“Then cuff me up, Potter! My parents told me everyting when I turned seventeen! And I hated everyone for it!”

“Then why do you call yourself Potter?”

“Because it should have been me,” Gary snarled. “I deserve all the glory! Instead I’m just some nobody who didn’t get to Hogwarts because I was too isolated! Who knows?” he said, leveling up to his brother with a glare. “Maybe the prophecy meant me.”

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

Leave a Reply

