littlewonder2

Little wonder we stumble in life.

100 Words – Flash Fictioneers

17 Comments

Image

He had bones in his backyard.

His plot of land was huge enough, out here in the bush, and private enough for no one much to notice. But every morning, he got up, went through his daily routine, and ventured out into his backyard looking for more.

His land was rich in tiny fossils, and he thought they must belong to something. Every morning, he would settle against a certain rock, big enough and flat enough to act as a table, take in his surroundings, and search.

He always found hundreds of tiny bones and fragments in a morning’s work.

I call this piece, “The Search”. This was a Friday prompt from Madison Woods‘ blog.

Author: littlewonder2

I'm 25, and I blog to improve my writing; I want to be good enough to be published. I also studied Japanese when I was younger. Luckily, I'll be able to continue those studies along with Creative Writing next year in University.

17 thoughts on “100 Words – Flash Fictioneers

  1. Call me macabre, but after that first line I thought he was the one putting the bones out there.

    Mine’s here:
    http://threedescriptors.wordpress.com/2012/02/24/flash-fiction-10-bones/

  2. This sounds like the beginning of what could be a really interesting story.
    Here’s mine: http://bridgesareforburning.wordpress.com/

  3. The question is what does he need the bones for? Curious. Very nice

  4. So many different directions to go in, great voice. I wish I could see where you’d go with the rest of it.

  5. A nice piece of work, a taster for something longer.

  6. I was always fascinated by archeology, sounds like this person is too. You’ve got my curiosity up.

  7. Consider deleting the coulds and woulds, Robin

  8. Yet another question, why was he cleaning up the trial of a careless carnivore? I get a feeling something is fishy about the him. A wonderful start to a great story, keep at it!

  9. This is an interesting piece — I really like where it begins, and I think there’s potential for a much bigger story. Thanks for sharing!

    Mine’s here this week: http://thecolorlime.wordpress.com/2012/02/24/to-starve-98/

  10. I don’t think you meant it this way, but the story reminded me of Robert Picton, from Port Coquitlam, British Columbia. He was a serial killer on a pig farm.

    Here’s mine: http://postcardfiction.com/2012/02/24/forgotten/

  11. As a fossil lover myself, I think he just looks for fossils because he has an obsessive desire to possess more of them 🙂 I enjoyed your story and am sorry it took me so long to reach you. Hope you join us again next Friday too!

  12. I have been examinating out a few of your stories and i can claim clever stuff. I will definitely bookmark your blog.

  13. Pingback: Joining the Trifecta Community « littlewonder2

Leave a Reply

